Executive Committee

The Business Archives Council of Scotland is governed by an Executive Committee elected annually at our AGM.


The principal officers are:

PresidentProf. Tony Slaven
ConvenorAmanda Noble (Lloyds Banking Group)
Depute ConvenorProf. Sam McKinstry
Hon. SecretaryCheryl Traversa (The Macallan)
Hon. TreasurerRobin Sim
Hon. Editors SIHProf. Sam McKinstry (University of West of Scotland)
Hon. Editors SIHProf. Alisdair Dobie (Edgehill University)
Surveying OfficerChris Cassells (Ballast Trust)
CommunicationsDawn Sinclair (HarperCollins)
EventsKaryn Williamson (Standard Life Aberdeen)

The Executive Committee consists of the above plus:

Dr Alison RosieNational Register of Archives for Scotland
Andrew MacGregorUniversity of Aberdeen
Kiara KingThe Ballast Trust
Prof. Ray StokesCentre for Business History in Scotland, University of Glasgow

The Council has no premises of its own but correspondence may be addressed to:


Business Archives Council of Scotland

c/o Archive Services

University of Glasgow

77-87 Dumbarton Road


G11 6PW

Professor Peter Payne

In 2017 the Business Archives Council of Scotland learned that our President, Professor Peter Payne, had passed away at the age of 87 on 10th January 2017. Prof. Payne was the Council’s vice president and then our president for many years and a key figure in the establishment of BACS in 1960. An obituary was prepared by Prof Tony Slaven and was published in the 2017 edition of Scottish Business and Industrial History.

The Business Archive Council also published an obituary which can be read here.

Free Email Updates
Get the latest content first.
We respect your privacy.